Not Today, Satan

It’s that time of the semester again. I can see it in everyone’s faces and the way they walk around. We are all exhausted. Life as a college student can be pretty hard, believe it or not. We have a lot that we juggle and it’s almost midterms, which are by far the most stressful time of the year. The beginning of the year is filled with excitement and starting new things, but by the fifth week it is overwhelming and we are already done with the 10 weeks we have left. Our weeks are filled with jobs, interviews, sports, chapter meetings, intramurals, class, homework, tests, football games, church, and we still somehow try and find time to sleep every now and then.

 

And then it hits us; we are so exhausted. I have had such a busy week. Between babysitting, school work, class, observation hours, church, and planning a wedding shower, I ended my week by planning our annual sisterhood retreat for my sorority. It was great and I had such a great time spending time with my sisters, but I could see it and hear it from all of them. We are all so exhausted. I heard comments from multiple people throughout the day, “I am just so tired. I have 3 tests this week, plus a paper. I am so happy to just be able to sit down for a few minutes. I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the week.” And I keep thinking oh I know, girl. Trust me.

 

So how do we push through this time of complete exhaustion and an overwhelming schedule and what seems like only the beginning? Tonight I sat down for my quiet time that I have sadly rejected for most of the week and I read John 14 (it’s crazy how God will give you exactly what you need when you need it). It’s Jesus’ last days on Earth with his disciples and He is telling them He is going away for a while and despite how much they want to come with Him, it isn’t their time to come yet. He tells them that there is one important thing they need to follow. Love their neighbors as He has loved them and that is how people will know they are His followers. And if they are His followers, He will come live inside them and come back for them one day.

 

We become so overwhelmed and so tired in this world because it is not our home. And that is why it becomes so hard for us to make it through these hard times. We are just homesick. We want and need so badly to be where none of this exhaustion and busyness exists. We are meant for somewhere better. But Jesus has good news for us. After He tells His disciples that He will come back for them, He tells them someone else is coming to rule the world (not the good news.) His name is Satan and his dominion over the world is what causes all of this exhaustion and busyness and unrest. And this busyness and exhaustion will cause us to stumble. We will snap at people because we aren’t in a good mood, or forget to say hello to the person we know needs it, or worst of all, forget to spend time with God. But there is something better for us. Jesus came and took this pain from us. John 14:27 says, “My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives to you. Your heart must not be burdened or troubled.” Then he goes on to say, “The ruler of the world is coming. He has no power of me. (This is the good news.)” (John 14:30)

 

Jesus has overcome this world and the ruler of it when He died on the cross and rose from the grave. Satan has no power over Him and that means He doesn’t have power over you either. Because Jesus lives inside of you, Satan and this world have no power. You are free from the burdens of this world and you take on the peace of Jesus. When He says His yoke is easy and His burden is light, He means it.

 

So not today, Satan. Today, you will not have power over me because you do not have power over Jesus. Yes I am tired, yes I am exhausted, and yes I am wondering how I am going to get everything done this week, but you do not rule over me. My Jesus rules over me and He has come to live inside of me and takes the burdens you give me on Himself. And THAT is how I make it through the week, the semester, and the hard times. Because I know that the Holy Spirit is praying for me when I am too tired to have words to say. Because on the cross, Jesus took all of my burdens and nailed them right up there with him. He hurts when I’m hurting and feels what I’m feeling and helps me through it. Not today Satan, or tomorrow, or next week. Jesus has taken care of that for me.

Leave a comment